Works in Progress #5: NASCAR Data

The Works in Progress series is part of a weekly visualization task for a class where our professor assigns us a new dataset and we must create our own unique visualization. These visuals are works in progress as throughout the class, we receive peer feedback on details that worked well and areas for improvement. Every few weeks, we get the opportunity to submit an updated visualization using the feedback we initially received.

This visualization using race data from the NASCAR Winston Cup Series from 1975-2003 (Source: NASCAR via Winner (2006) ). I wasn’t quite able to achieve what I wanted with this dataset the first time around but I am looking forward to collaborating with my peers to try and get the desired end point.

Motorsports tend to have “Generations”, eras dictated by major changes in rules or manufacturing styles of cars. While this can present a challenge when comparing drivers across eras, knowing eras can be useful when exploring how things such as car build, regulations, and driving style can change over time. I was hoping to explore the importance of starting position in NASCAR, similarly to how I did with Formula One for a final project, but at this time was not able to. Instead, I decided to focus on lead changes have evolved over time. I felt like this was something that I could do with the data in its present form, and could still help move me along to my final goal. While there wasn’t any statistical significance, it does appear that races with enormous amounts of lead changes may becoming less common. I hope to explore how factors such as circuit length, payouts, and caution flags have on lead changes and further exploring the impact of starting position on racing.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started